WhatsApp could delete your account if you don’t accept an update

windows wirral fitters seaview windows wallasey

WhatsApp bosses are warning users about a new update that could see your account blocked if you don't accept it.

The messaging app, which is owned by Facebook, will introduce a new policy.

Bosses are pushing to further protect people's most private information, but they are asking users to accept their agreement terms.

Receive newsletters with the latest news, sport and what's on updates from the Liverpool ECHO by signing up here

wallasey printers liscard wallasey

But if users don't accept the policy by May 15, they faced being locked out of their account.

According to BirminghamLive, Facebook said: "People want to know that WhatsApp and Facebook cannot read or listen to personal conversations as they're end-to-end encrypted.

"After that, people want to know that WhatsApp does not keep logs of who everyone is messaging.

"And that we do not share contact lists with Facebook.

wirral airport transfers mersesysideairportservice.co.uk

"This is our global approach to protecting people's most private information and that's not changing."

Enter your postcode below to claim a free scratchcard

WhatsApp said: "To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we've extended the effective date to May 15th.

"If you haven't accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account."

One user on social media reacted to the changes and moaned: "Many people who are not happy accepting that will just leave and don’t use the app anymore, they will just move over to whatever they can use to send messages without being bothered."

Another wrote: "We will be out of lockdown by then so no need for whats app anymore."

PUBLISH YOUR ARTICLE ON NEWSWIRRAL.CO.UK