Full UK Government safe country travel list after Spain removed

The government's list of countries and territories where Brits can travel to and not have to self-isolate has been updated.

The update comes after it was confirmed British tourists in Spain will now have to quarantine for two weeks when they return to the UK.

A spike of coronavirus cases in the country prompted the decision to remove Spain from the government's safe country list.

The so-called "travel corridor" with Spain was shut down after the country reported more than 900 new daily infections towards the end of last week.

Zilch - No Credit Check Finance

Now, if you arrive in England, Wales, Scotland or Northern Ireland from Spain after July 26 2020, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office advises against all but essential travel to mainland Spain amid fears the country is on the brink of a deadly second wave of coronavirus.

But what countries are viewed as safe for British holidaymakers to travel to?

Exemption rules

wirral airport transfers mersesysideairportservice.co.uk

You may not have to self-isolate when you arrive in England if you are travelling from one of the countries or territories listed below.

The reason for this, according to the government website, is because these countries or territories are:

  • covered by the travel corridor exemption
  • within the common travel area (Ireland, the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man)
  • British overseas territories

But you will need to self-isolate if you visit or make a transit stop, where travellers can get off or on a mode of transport, in a country that is not on the list in the 14 days before you arrive in England.

This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route.

Keep up to date with travel news in your area by adding your postcode below:

The government's safe country list includes the countries below. Please note this information is correct at the time of publication but if you are viewing this article at a later date, you should check the Foreign and Commonwealth Office website for the latest updates:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Andorra
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • the Channel Islands
  • Croatia
  • Curacao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Gibraltar
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • the Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao (Macau)
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • Montserrat
  • the Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Poland
  • Reunion
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • South Korea
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Barthelemy
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Vatican City State
  • Vietnam

This information is constantly under review and the list may be added to following further discussions between the UK and international partners.