Amazon Best Sellers
  • Wed. Feb 21st, 2024

Candidates confirmed for City Council by-elections


Apr 5, 2022

The candidates for two Liverpool Council by-elections taking place later this week have been confirmed.

Residents in Warbreck and Everton wards will go to the polls on Thursday 7th April to elect their new representatives at the Town Hall. Elections were called after Ian Byrne, Labour MP for West Derby, stood down from his role in January after almost four years.

Former councillor Cheryl Didsbury resigned her seat in Warbreck following a seven year stint on the red benches. Now, a full slate of candidates for the votes, to be held on the same day, has been confirmed.

READ MORE: 'Committed paedophile' subjected girl to 'campaign of rape'

blackpool wedding photographer, blackpool photography service,,blackpoolvideographyservice

Labour had already announced that Ellie Byrne would stand in Everton ward, following her selection by Liverpool Walton CLP. Kevin Robinson-Hale, a former Labour member, is representing the Green Party in this week’s by-election.

They will be joined on the ballot paper by Roger Bannister, Trade Union and Socialist Coalition candidate. Mr Bannister was expelled by Labour in the 1980s and has previously stood to be Mayor of Liverpool. Reading, Basingstoke, Berkshire

Steve Fitzsimmons will stand for the Liberal Democrats while Angela Preston, who is described as “Steve Radford’s candidate” on the official notice of candidates, will stand for the Liberal Party. Wendy Hine will attempt to become the one of two possible members of the Conservative Party on Liverpool Council when she also contests the seat.

A total of four candidates will stand in Warbreck, with Sam East confirmed early on as the Labour Party hopeful. He is joined by Rebecca Lawson of the Green Party and Karen Afford for the Liberal Democrats.

Mark Butchard is standing for the Tories. A third by-election will be held in due course in Fazakerley after Lyndsay Melia resigned her seat at the end of March.

Labour remains the majority party on the council, with 63 of the 90 seats available. Polls will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday.

Voters in Everton can visit the following polling stations: Everton Park Sports Centre, Great Homer Street; The Breckfield Centre, Ent: Breckfield Road North, And Mere Lane; St Francis Xavier Church, Salisbury Street; Whitefield Primary School, Boundary Lane, and Clock Community Centre, 107 St Domingo Road.

Those wishing to vote in Warbreck can do so at Orrell Park Baptist Church Hall; St.John`s Evangelist Church, Rice Lane; St.Nathanael's Church, Fazakerley Road, and The Salvation Army, Cavendish Drive.

hydro jelly mask